Bartender

DSC00007

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The coffee is a little too cold

even on this warm summer day
but nevermind
I’m still enjoying this, minute by minute
when I sit at a big table
by myself
listen to music overhead
which reminds me of
this other job I had
when I felt like I had found haven
in an endless pit
music played overhead
while I poured drink after drink
for the new, for the regular
for the young
for the divorced father
a self-proclaimed world traveler
a couple
one sad, one lonely
my ex
her roommate

I poured drink after drink
yellow, pink, green, coconut
sake
shake for martini
then strain, don’t forget the olives

It was good time
and the music helped
with my heartache

Leave a Reply

