paper

poems used to be on paper
and now i type them up
my first poem was with a computer
my latest poem typed

i miss home
so much
random ramblings
take my mind off of it

coffee was good
the sun is out
this morning
what a rare beauty
feels so good on my cheeks
sunshine
i had forgotten what you feel like
in Chicago
winter time

I can’t stay here
and my body knows
my Chicago days, ending
and my mind, grown

i won’t look back when i turn
when i turn away i won’t look
it’s time
to leave some things behind

goodbye is never easy
although i’ve done it a thousand times
someday, somewhere we will see each other
but this time
i want to add:
if it was meant to be
we will meet
adiós
good people, good city
good times, good, just fine

Leave a Reply

