Early bird

Standing 10 hours
lift, carry, run, faster, faster!
15 minute break
my body is tired, and I have no appetite

I want a poem about love,
colors,
life,
flowers

but all I feel inspired
to type up
is about this coffee
tip of my tongue
slides down my throat
lingers on breath
caresses my skin
pleasure
makes me forget
aches from yesterday

I leave for work in an hour

I don’t know how to explain
this push and pull

like, when I focus on what people call “life”,
“work”, “education”, “salary”, “time”, “work”
I lose something-
and my coffee doesn’t taste as good

But if I don’t work
I don’t have money.
That’s a simple equation, supposedly

Leave a Reply

