Flying

Goodbye is never easy
Leaves me hollow
Air squeezed out of me
As if I won’t last till tomorrow
Like waves crashing
Faucet dripping
Snow falling
Continuously
Hits me hard
Effortlessly

And I wanted to say more
Say bye, be sentimental and shit
Ive had so many years of practice
I’ve said thousands of goodbyes
Some people I never saw again
Places I don’t touch again
Like sand slipping thru my fingers
Rain flowing down the drain
Leaves swaying, then falling
When I look up the autumn sky

Each time
An earthquake shakes thru my body
My head splits, heart roars
Valleys in my brain, echoes of your name
Can’t turn
To catch one last gaze

Thundering weather inside
And all I could manage was
Just.. “bye”.

Leave a Reply

