Contemplation

Coffee in one, and pen in the other
I’m taking my time, to write you an offer
one of love, one of peace
I want to write, adorn these words with multiple colors

I am not going to lie, what I’m saying is true
You came out of nowhere, everywhere, out of the blue
For a few seconds, I thought you looked cute
Soon after, hours of contemplation: possibilities of me and you

Some race against time, arrhythmia embedded in a rocky lifeline
I’ve been there before, the fast lane and an anxious ride
but now slow and steady, your words rock me
I’d like to have you, like how some say for “more than a lifetime”

what I mean is a spiritual encounter
before you, I no longer was empowered
by love or chemistry. I had convinced myself
all I needed was work and to survive another hour

Before you, a quote from my previous poem:
“now i try not to think too much
but that also means i have less to say
in my poems
that could just be random rambling
if i look at it that way”

you are more than I ever expected
lifted me up, gave me a new perspective
Even amidst days that would be more than hectic
I want you to know, you on my mind every ticking second.

You light up my days, blaze through my nights
I replay these images, lingering thoughts of you in mind
I’m thinking: you could be a home away from home.
Then I shiver. I can’t wait for you to hold me tight.

Leave a Reply

