Zoom

Standstill
I’m behind you
watching everything fly by
you zoom through the empty street
buildings
windows
the lights were off
it was windy
and I was cold
but to feel
reconnected,
a bond rekindled
like a pot of water
now boiling on the stove
you had my back.
Do you know how rare that is?
I hope we last
It’s been so many years
and we’ve been so far apart
but you are always around.
Every time. A call away
never missed my call
because you are family
because you fill my cup
next time I’m around
again, let’s link up
like we always do
me and you
I don’t use this word lightly
but you, my friend
a Friend.

Leave a Reply

