Foreign Fish

When will I stop feeling foreign
When will it stop
When my head spins
My breath stops
What is it that makes comfort comfortable
What makes confidence confident
I play this game
And my head talks me down
I play this game
And my eyes look at the ground
I play this game
I love so much
Yet wherever I go
In a deep sea
I feel lost
The only yellow fish
Swim, and
I float farther from home
I float away from that island
I float away from passion
I float away, I’m not drowning
But my lungs filled with water
My fingers burnt
By memories that still hurt
Memories that remind me everyday I’m foreign
Memories that remind me I’m insignificant
I’m too grown, too experienced
To be stuck in the past
To lament in what’s passed
To drown in my own thoughts
Yet these pieces surface
While my face remains underwater
Still struggling for air
Dear Spirit
Lift me up
Stay with me as I learn
be kind to me
Run with me
Unwind with me
Be with me as I let go
Be with me as I grow
I accept life and fate as a foreigner
Time me while I swim the extra mile

Leave a Reply

