Alternative

i am not mainstream
i can be traditional
but break customs all the time
my familys not proud of me
i dont know what they were expecting
someone to fulfill their unmet dreams
someone to carry their weight on strong shoulders
i dont disappoint
yet im unable to become that butterfly
they were hoping to find in me
because i made up my mind a while ago
i am not mainstream
i can be traditional
but break customs all the time
i dont do what i want
i dont just do what i please
but i started with knowing myself
and went from there
traditions are traditions
i never lost my roots
but sometimes they are not enough
butterflies are pretty
but i want to be more than that
i dont know where im going from here
but i know to trust my gut
when it tells me to turn left
i wont pick the path right
because everything is relative
what is right to them
what is wrong to them
what is fulfilling
what is true
what is up, what is down.
perspectives and worldviews…
some people dont know they are relative.

Leave a Reply

