A certain way

I look a certain way
but I don’t always feel that way
I like to wear men’s clothes
I have a strong voice
I walk slow, my feet are sturdy
My hair is short
though it’s been shorter before

But
I write poems; I draw
I appreciate nature; my favorite color is green for a reason
I like the sun
I love music
I’m sensitive
I feel a lot of things
Everyday
I’m inspired by the ordinary
I look up to the extraordinary
I take care of people
But I need to be held
from time to time, I do

But people forget that
because I look the way I do
I need love.
just like the woman,
who looks like a woman,
standing next to me

Leave a Reply

