Doused

I love you
so I let go
If I can do that
And you come back
time after time
I will know
that the decision is good
I think about the future
the things I wish I could have
with you
reality checks in
my romantic dreams
doused by a cold bucket
steam rises
sizzles through
tangible air.
Air so real, it’s a wall
I can’t waltz through.
After a deep breath, though,
I focus my mind on what is true
now
I focus on my decision
I focus on what’s shared
I focus on memories made
If I put my mind to it
I can climb that wall
reach the top
watch the world revolve
Hopefully with you

Leave a Reply

