Good lover

For a while I had hope
For some time I thought I could settle
For reasons I thought I’d stop looking
For what I thought could be love, I kept trying

For 11 months I thought we could do 12
For 6 months for you it was hell
For every tear you dropped, I cried too
For every up and down, I held on to you

For every break up, came a heartbreak
For every night you didn’t want me
For every time you didn’t want to be held
For those cuddles and kisses that dispelled

Thinking back
I did all I could
I did everything right
flowers, balloon, surprise
moving, mouse, cat
tv, game, paint
cooking, cleaning, games

I think I’m a good lover
and I loved so hard.
Too hard, was that the problem.

Leave a Reply

