Refugee

It’s times like these, drowning while no one sees
stranded in the ocean, boat broke under this refugee
I shouldn’t say that, since for many that is reality
while for this first world liberal, just mental instability
people in the ocean, please find the raft you need
because everyone’s cold, to other worlds they can’t perceive
because everyone’s cold, selfish, can’t spare a dish of empathy

If you come to me,
and ask for help

I might keep walking, pretending I do not see
tears flushing down your puffy red cheeks
lips pursed, neck stiff, I stride with ease
back to a comfortable apartment, nestled on the corner of Troop Street
Realistically, I could have spared a little something
From the 13 an hour, a powerless intern stuck in I.T.
because everyone’s cold, to other worlds they can’t perceive
because everyone’s cold, selfish, and that includes me

If you come to me,
and ask for help

I might break down and cry, honestly
At 26 years of age, I still do not have money
living off of credit, in a capitalistic society
the damage done, will never end nor be complete
It’s because I need money that I’m going into IT
will I love, hate, or tolerate, we shall see
I know right now, mentally, I’m drowning in a coral-filled blue sea
wading in a pool of privilege, I struggle to breathe

If you come to me,
and ask for help

I change my mind, let my spirit be free
what I will probably do is try to fill up your empty belly
I love to cook, and cooking loves me
My feet are planted on the ground while I jog my memory
a fresh image of my mother in an apron, always cooking
vegetables, seafood, really anything you can imagine
I see her apron, stained from sweat and grease
I close my eyes, and see her shadow right by the sink
For a moment I stop feeling like a refugee
drowning in a coral-filled blue sea

If you come to me,
and ask for help

I will ask you, “Did you eat”
“What do you like? What are you craving?”
You can teach me if you know how to cook
and let me help you, feed you, so you can get back on your feet.
As for me, drowning in a coral-filled blue sea
I don’t know.
while I wade in a pool of privilege, struggling to breathe

If you come to me,
and ask for help

Did you eat? What are you craving?
Oh, did I eat? No not yet, don’t worry about me.
Are you sure? You’re not tired?
What? You want to cook for me?
How about let’s do it together, you and me?
Let me take care of you
while you fill my belly.

Leave a Reply

