I had the wind knocked out of me

I had the wind knocked out of me
I had a knife go through my sternum
I had five seconds to panic
Five seconds to process this conundrum

Pain was creeping up from my toes
it was crawling, biting at the same time too
when it reached my stomach
it then ate its way through

There was a gaping hole in my torso
I stood there, still like a scarecrow
while this hole bled
I used logic to cover up my ego

I did everything I could to say the most sensible response
I did everything I could to suppress impulsive thoughts
I did everything I could to hide how I felt
I did everything I could so I would not melt

And I still managed to say, “I love you”
as if that hole wasn’t there
I will never understand you completely
But as you can see from this hole, I’m trying.

Leave a Reply

