Sizzle

My breath is coffee
and my tongue is anguished
my eyes are half-open
my mind already anxious

Oil sizzles and steam rises
the door to my kitchen is always open
but they spoke, said they’re not coming in
because earlier, I wasn’t there for them

my temporary joy, so carefully collected
vanished like smoothly blown vapor
from a round dinner table with hometown slang
to an adrenaline injection in the stem of my brain

vanished
kicked in
I have never felt anger
quite like that before

all logic out the door
all control…

Decimated last night
pieces of happiness and remembrance vanished
while my breath is still coffee
and my tongue still anguished.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

